Womens' Big Bash League

The Roster of Overseas Players in the Inaugural WBBL Draft

A total of 122 players have submitted their names, with a unique twist for six of them.

For the first time in WBBL history, overseas signings will be determined through a draft scheduled for September 3. The following is an exhaustive list of all the nominated players. The names of players eligible for a retention pick* are accompanied by their respective clubs. Furthermore, six players have taken a distinct route, exercising a direct nomination option that enables them to decline selection in the draft and instead sign directly with a club afterwards.

In the event a player chooses this pathway and secures a direct contract with a team post-draft, their retainer cannot exceed 95% of the value attributed to a silver category player, which equates to AU$61,750.

Bangladesh: Jahanara Alam

England: Georgia Adams, Emily Arlott, Hollie Armitage, Hannah Baker, Tammy Beaumont (direct nomination), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey (Melbourne Stars), Kate Cross, Naomi Dattani, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley (direct nomination), Katie George, Dani Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Kirstie Gordon, Bess Heath, Amy Jones (direct nomination), Eve Jones (Melbourne Renegades), Marie Kelly, Heather Knight (Sydney Thunder), Emma Lamb, Katie Levick, Kalea Moore, Fi Morris, Grace Scrivens, Seren Smale, Sophia Smale, Bryony Smith, Linsey Smith, Eleanor Threlkeld, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill (Melbourne Stars), Issy Wong (Hobart Hurricanes), Danni Wyatt (Brisbane Heat)

Hong Kong: Kary Chan

Ireland: Laura Delany, Gaby Lewis, Orla Prendergast

India: Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur (Melbourne Renegades), Harleen Deol, Hurley Gala, Richa Ghosh, Mannat Kashyap, Amanjot Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Shikha Pandey, Shreyanka Patil, Sneh Rana, Jemimah Rodrigues (Melbourne Stars), Meghana Sabbineni, Deepti Sharma, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav

Netherlands: Sterre Kallis

New Zealand: Suzie Bates (direct nomination), Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Eden Carson, Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers), Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Green (Perth Scorchers), Hayley Jensen (Hobart Hurricanes), Xara Jetly, Fran Jonas, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr (Brisbane Heat), Jessica Kerr (Brisbane Heat), Rosemary Mair, Nensi Patel, Molly Penfold, Lea Tahuhu (Sydney Thunder), Jess Watkin

Pakistan: Aiman Anwar, Nida Dar, Iram Javed, Fatima Sana, Syeda Aroob Shah

Papua New Guinea: Kaia Arua, Sibona Jimmy, Tanya Ruma, Isabel Toua

Scotland: Abtaha Maqsood

South Africa: Anneke Bosche, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk (Brisbane Heat), Annerie Dercksen, Mignon du Preez (direct nomination), Shabnim Ismail (Melbourne Renegades), Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp (Perth Scorchers), Michaela Kirk, Masbata Klaas, Lizelle Lee (direct nomination), Sune Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Robyn Searle, Chloe Tryon (Sydney Thunder), Faye Tunnicliffe, Dane van Niekerk, Jane Winster, Laura Wolvaardt (Adelaide Strikers)

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (Melbourne Renegades)

UAE: Esha Oza, Theertha Satish

USA: Tara Norris

West Indies: Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin (Adelaide Strikers), Afy Fletcher, Chinelle Henry, Qiana Joseph, Hayley Matthews (Melbourne Renegades), Anisa Mohammed, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor (Adelaide Strikers)

Zimbabwe: Mary-Anne Musonda, Kelis Ndhlovu.

Players featured in both the WBBL and BBL overseas drafts are eligible for retention if they satisfy any of the following criteria:

  1. Been a part of a Big Bash squad for at least two seasons and haven’t been contracted to another team since.
  2. Featured in a Big Bash squad during the previous season.
  3. Been in a team squad during the last season but not played in the starting 13, and have received approval from the Big Bash Technical Committee.
  4. Otherwise approved by the Big Bash Technical Committee based on exceptional circumstances.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *