T20 LeaguesWomens' Big Bash League

Sydney Thunders women cricket team

The Sydney Thunder are one of eight founding teams of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL). They are aligned with the men’s team of the same name, and they play their home games at Sydney Showground Stadium. Rene Farrell was the team’s first-ever player signing, and Joanne Broadbent was appointed as inaugural coach. Alex Blackwell became the inaugural captain. The Thunder played their first game on 6 December 2015, against the Sydney Sixers at Howell Oval in Penrith, winning by nine wickets with 40 balls remaining. The Thunder have been one of the most successful teams in WBBL history. They have won the title once, in 2015-16. They have also made the finals on four other occasions. The Thunder are a well-balanced team with a strong batting and bowling attack. They are always a contender for the title, and they will be looking to add to their trophy cabinet in 2023.

3 thoughts on “Sydney Thunders women cricket team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *