US Masters T10 League

Texas Charger are the Champions of the first season of US Master T10 League

Texas Chargers and New York Warriors found themselves in a nail-biting finale during the inaugural edition of US Masters T10 League, culminating in a Super Over showdown. The closely contested match required a tie-breaker after both teams posted identical scores of 92 in the main contest.

In the decisive Super Over, the spotlight was on the two Sohails: Tanvir and Khan. Sohail Khan, who had earlier displayed remarkable skill by claiming five wickets to keep New York Warriors in the running, held Texas Chargers to a respectable total of 15, with Mukhtar Ahmed striking a crucial last-ball six. Sohail Tanvir then took center stage, limiting New York to just two runs, despite a final-ball six by Jonathan Carter.

Sohail Khan’s heroics were pivotal in forcing the match into the tie-breaker. He ignited a game-changing moment during the ninth over when Texas Chargers were at 82 for 4, needing 11 runs from two overs. In a swift burst, Sohail Khan dismantled Upul Tharanga, Phil Mustard, Thisara Perera, and Neil Broom in a remarkable four-ball sequence. Shahid Afridi also contributed, dismissing Sohail Tanvir and Fidel Edwards in the last over to level the game.

Before Sohail Khan’s standout performance, Mohammad Hafeez continued his exceptional form, well supported by Ben Dunk. Together, they crafted a pivotal partnership of 46 runs for the second wicket. Hafeez contributed 46 runs from 17 balls, while Dunk added 20 runs from 12 deliveries.

In the batting department, New York Warriors struggled to establish momentum. Fidel Edwards dismissed Kamran Akmal with the opening delivery of the match. Despite a 30-run collaboration between Richard Levi and Tillakaratne Dilshan, Ehsan Adil turned the tide with a crucial two-over burst, claiming 3 wickets for 11 runs, thwarting the Warriors’ progress.

Jonathan Carter’s exceptional effort, characterized by three sixes and three fours in a 17-ball 39 not out, provided New York Warriors with a fighting chance. Sohail Khan’s later contributions further bolstered their effort, yet it fell short on the day.

Sohail Khan rightly earned the Player-of-the-Match accolade for his remarkable performance in the final, while Mohammad Hafeez was deservedly named the Player-of-the-Tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *