Lanka Premier LeagueT20 Leagues


Brief History of LPL

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) is a professional cricket league held in Sri Lanka in the T20 format. It was established by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) in 2018 and features teams representing five Sri Lankan cities. The league has gained popularity since its inception in 2020 and has seen three successful seasons so far.

Initially planned to be held from 18th August to 10th September 2018, the first season faced several postponements due to administrative issues within SLC. However, in June 2020, amidst the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic, SLC announced a new start date of 28 August 2020 for the tournament. The first season eventually kicked off on 26th November 2020, after being rescheduled multiple times to accommodate pandemic-related restrictions.

The Jaffna Kings emerged as the two-time champions in the 2021 & 2022 seasons. The league has gained significant attention from players worldwide, with 70 overseas players expressing interest in participating in the competition.

The subsequent editions of the LPL were planned for July 2021 and August 2022. However, the 2021 edition had to be pushed back to a start date of 19th November 2021. Unfortunately, the third edition, scheduled for August 2022, had to be postponed due to the ongoing Sri Lankan economic crisis and the 2022 protests in the country. Despite the player draft taking place, the rights holder of the tournament, the Innovative Production Group, decided not to proceed with the schedule considering the economic situation at that time.

Lanka Premier league 2023 season is scheduled to be held from 7th Dec to 23rd Dec.

Current Teams of LPL

Colombo StarsColombo, Western Province2023Sagar KhannaAngelo MathewsSimon Helmot
Dambulla AuraDambulla, Central Province2022Viranjith ThambugalaDasun
Galle GladiatorsGalle, Southern Province2023Nayana WasalathilakaKusal
Chamara Kapugedara
Jaffna KingsJaffna, Northern Province2021Subaskaran AllirajahThisara PereraThilina Kandamby
Kandy FalconsKandy, Central Province2023Omar KhanWanindu HasarangaPiyal Wijetunge

Champions of LPL seasons

SeasonVenueWinnersRunner-upResultPlayer of the season
2020Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, HambantotaJaffna Stallions (Jaffna Kings)Galle GladiatorsJaffna Stallions won by 53 runsWanindu Hasaranga (Jaffna Stallions)
2021Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, HambantotaJaffna KingsGalle GladiatorsJaffna Kings won by 23 runsAvishka Fernando (Jaffna Kings)
2022R. Premadasa Stadium, ColomboJaffna KingsColombo starsJaffna Kings won by 2 wicketsSadeera Samarawickrama (Jaffna Kings)
Player acquisition, squad composition, and salaries
Let’s take a look at how these aspects have changed from 2020 to 2023 Lanka Premier League (LPL).

2020 – 2022
In the first three editions of the Lanka Premier League, teams selected players through a draft system. Before the draft, each team had the opportunity to directly sign a limited number of players. During the draft, team owners could pick players from four categories, with salaries ranging from US$3000 to US$60000. Each squad was allowed to have 14 local players and 6 overseas players.

For the first time in the history of the Lanka Premier League, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has planned to conduct an auction to select players. Before the auction, each franchise is permitted to directly sign 2 local players and 2 overseas players for their squads. The franchises can still have 14 local players and 6 overseas players in each squad.

Here are some of the rules for franchises for the 2023 season:

1. The salary cap for the entire squad must not exceed US$1 million.
2. Each franchise has US$500,000 for direct signings and US$500,000 for the auction.
3. If a franchise has a remaining balance after direct signings, it cannot transfer it to the auction purse.
4. Players are categorized into capped and uncapped players. Each player registers with a base price ranging from $10,000 to $50,000 in $10,000 increments.
5. Uncapped players are categorized into $20,000 if they have played 50 first-class matches, $10,000 if they have played 25 first-class matches or 18 matches in the LPL or any other T20 franchise leagues, and $ 5,000 if they do not meet the above criteria.
6. All signed players will be given contracts of up to three years, and franchises will have the right to “retain or fire players by mutual consent” at the end of each year.
7. Slots created due to player unavailability or player release will be filled through an annual mini-auction, and there will be a designated trade window for transfer players.

Prize Money
In the 2022 edition, the winners of the tournament were awarded US$100,000, while the runners-up received US$50,000 in prize money.


West Indies in Super Eight round of T20 Cricket World cup

In a thrilling match at the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba, West Indies cricket team staged a remarkable comeback led …
WI vs UGA T20 World Cup 2024

Record breaking T20 World cup match of West Indies and Uganda

The West Indies cricket team absolutely dominated Uganda in the 18th match of the T20 World Cup 2024, played on …
West Indies Women Cricket team

West Indies Women Cricket team clean sweep Pakistan ODI Series

In a commanding display, Hayley Matthews’ brilliant 141 guided the West Indies Women Cricket team to a comprehensive victory over …

Nissanka, Asalanka, and Hasaranga Shine as Sri Lanka Levels Series 1-1

Bangladesh battled to the end yet the 185-run fourth-wicket organization manufactured by Pathum Nissanka (114) and Charith Asalanka (91) demonstrated …

Shadab’s All-Round Performance Leads to Victory Over Zalmi Despite Aamir’s Heroic Batting

Rawalpindi, 4 Walk 2024: On the rear of a splendid all-round presentation by captain Shadab Khan, Islamabad United defeated Peshawar …

Fortune Barishal won their maiden Bangladesh Premier League Title

Fortune Barishal clinched their first Bangladesh Premier League title with a convincing six-wicket victory over the formidable Comilla Victorians at …


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *