Bangladesh Premier League

Fortune Barishal won their maiden Bangladesh Premier League Title

Fortune Barishal clinched their first Bangladesh Premier League title with a convincing six-wicket victory over the formidable Comilla Victorians at the Mirpur Stadium. Barishal’s bowlers set the tone, restricting Comilla to 154 for 6, before Tamim Iqbal and Kyle Mayers led the successful chase of 155.

Facing a strong Comilla side, winners of the BPL four times, Fortune Barishal needed a special effort. James Fuller’s two key wickets and tight spells from Taijul Islam and Obed McCoy restricted Comilla’s scoring.

In response, Tamim’s entertaining 39 off 26 balls set the stage, with key contributions from Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mayers. Mayers’ aggressive 46 off 30 balls, including two sixes off Andre Russell, guided Barishal closer to victory.

Comilla’s innings started with an early escape for Sunil Narine, but Fuller’s double strike in the powerplay and McCoy’s breakthroughs kept the pressure on. Despite a partnership between Mahidul Islam Ankon and Jaker Ali, Barishal kept Comilla in check, crucially keeping Russell off the field for an extended period.

When Ankon fell in the 17th over, Russell had limited time to make an impact. Although he smashed four sixes, Saifuddin’s tight final over ensured Barishal maintained control, preventing any late surge from Comilla.

Fortune Barishal celebrated a historic moment as they lifted their maiden BPL trophy in style, outclassing the powerhouse Comilla Victorians by a commanding six-wicket margin. The victory was a testament to Barishal’s all-round prowess, with their bowlers laying the foundation before captain Tamim Iqbal and the dynamic Kyle Mayers orchestrated a clinical chase to overhaul the 155-run target.

Facing the formidable Comilla, who had clinched the BPL title a record four times, including the last two editions, Barishal needed a special performance. The stage was set by their bowlers, led by the impactful James Fuller, who claimed two crucial wickets to dent Comilla’s progress early on. Taijul Islam and Obed McCoy also played their part, ensuring Comilla could only manage 154 for 6 in their allotted overs.

Barishal’s chase began with flair, as Tamim treated the packed Shere Bangla National Stadium to a scintillating 39 off just 26 balls. Supported by Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Tamim showcased his class with some delightful strokes, including consecutive sixes off Tanvir Islam. Mayers then took over the reins, smashing his way to 46 off 30 balls, with two crucial sixes off the dangerous Andre Russell, who struggled to contain the Barishal batsmen.

Despite some late fielding lapses from Comilla, Fortune Barishal remained composed, with Mahmudullah and David Miller guiding them home with ease in the 19th over.

Comilla’s innings, after being put in to bat, was marred by early setbacks, with Fuller and McCoy striking early blows. Although Mahidul Islam Ankon and Jaker Ali steadied the ship, their partnership was contained by Barishal’s bowlers, ensuring Andre Russell was kept off the field for an extended period.

When Ankon departed in the 17th over, Russell had little time to make an impact. His late flurry of boundaries was not enough, as Barishal’s skipper Saifuddin held his nerve in the final over, conceding just seven runs and denying Comilla any chance of a late resurgence.

In the end, it was Fortune Barishal’s day to shine, as they etched their name in the annals of BPL history with a memorable victory over the mighty Comilla Victorians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *