Global Canada T20

GLOBAL T20 CANADA, A Canadian T20 League

The Global T20 Canada is an exciting 20-over cricket tournament held in Canada, showcasing the fast-paced and action-packed format of the game. The tournament’s first edition took place in June and July 2018, featuring six teams battling it out for supremacy. Each team consisted of four local Canadian cricketers along with international players, adding an international flavor to the competition.

The inaugural tournament in 2018 was hosted at the Maple Leaf Cricket Club in King City, Ontario, while the 2019 edition was held at the CAA Centre in Brampton, Ontario. The league is owned and organized by Bombay Sports Limited, the same organizers behind the Euro T20 Slam.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) sanctioned the Global T20 Canada in February 2018, making it the first fully sanctioned T20 league in North America, outside of the Caribbean. The league’s recognition received praise, including from Canada’s Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau.

The action-packed cricket extravaganza witnessed the Vancouver Knights emerge victorious in the inaugural season, claiming the title by defeating the Cricket West Indies B Team in the final.

The 2019 season continued to captivate cricket enthusiasts at the CAA Centre in Brampton, Ontario. However, the second-round game between Montreal Tigers and Toronto Nationals encountered a delay due to a protest over unpaid wages, causing a temporary disruption in the excitement.

The third season, originally planned for 2020, faced postponement due to the COVID-19 pandemic, with the tournament rescheduled to take place in 2021. In an unexpected move, the event was moved to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 24 June to 11 July 2021, owing to the pandemic restrictions in Canada. The tournament underwent a few changes, with Edmonton Royals being renamed as Surrey Jaguars.

Unfortunately, the 2021 tournament had to be canceled due to evolving concerns regarding COVID-19 and strict preventive measures enforced by the Malaysian Government to curb the pandemic spread.

Fans’ wait for thrilling T20 action was finally rewarded when it was announced on May 16, 2023, that the much-awaited 2023 Global T20 Canada would take place from July 20 to August 6 in Brampton, rekindling the excitement and anticipation for an enthralling cricket spectacle in Canada.


S NoTeam
1Brampton Wolves
2Mississauga Panthers
3Montreal Tigers
4Toronto Nationals
5Surrey Jaguars
6Vancouver Knights


In 2019, Mediapro took on the role of “global consultant” for Global T20 Canada’s media rights, overseeing world feed production and international distribution through its regional subsidiaries. The Canadian broadcast rights for the tournament were held by Asian Television Network in 2019, and some matches were televised on the prominent sports channel TSN

However, for the 2023 season, CBC Sports secured the broadcast rights. All matches will be available for streaming on CBC Gem, while the championship match will be aired on CBC Television.

The list of broadcasters for the 2023 season includes:

LocationTelevision broadcaster(s)Streaming
AustraliaFox Cricket
BangladeshT SportsT Sports app
CanadaCBC Television (finals only)CBC Gem
United KingdomViaplay Xtra
IndiaStar SportsFancode
NepalStar SportsFancode
Middle EastbeIN Sports
PakistanA SportsAry Zap
South AfricaSuperSport
United StatesMAQ TV
Other regionsKwesé SportsDAZN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *